Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

Video ICT

The Faculty of ICT (Information and Communication Technology) is the faculty of four faculties, consisting of the Faculty of Economics and Business, the Faculty of ICT, the Faculty of Hospitality and Tourism, and a master's program at IOB.

The first dean of the Faculty of ICT was Mr. Gabriel Neves, S. Kom., M. Kom., who started his work from 2013 to 2016. Mrs. Bernadeta Turi, S. Kom., M. Kom., then took office as dean from 2016 to 2018. Mr. Antonio Soares Martins, L. Gi., M.TI., was the dean of faculty from 2018 until 2019. Mr. Vasio Sarmento Soares, S. Kom., MT, is the current dean that has been assigned since 2019.

The establishment of the F-ICT is a strategy to address the changes in the globalization of advanced science and technology in Industry 4.0. In addition to responding to the market and industry demand that is now requiring the youth of Timor-Leste, who are skilled and diligent in the area of information, to raise the quality of work and goals.

Faculty Name

Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (F-ICT)


  • Hand: the sense of hands represents people's ability to operate ICT.
  • Calculator: is a technology that facilitates the connectivity of industrial era 4.0
  • Colors:
  • Green is an ICT faculty official color.
  • Red: Sense of courage to adapt to today’s advanced ICT evolution
  • Yellow: There is a sense that whoever adapts to ICT in the 4.0 era will exist and live longer.


Professional and Integrity

Professional: knowledge, ability, and attitude

Integrity: character of humanism and nationalism. 


The Faculty of ICT was established by the IOB (Institute of Business) in 2013, with the view that, on the basis of the IOB strategy, technology is the fundamental base and determining factor for all activities because, in modern times, the technology-based education system is a determining factor to help carry out all activities efficiently, effectively, and flexibly. The existing departments in F-ICT include the Department of Informatics Management, Informatics Engineering, Computer Accounting, and Multimedia Technology. All departments are authorized by the Ministry of Higher Education.

Regarding the evaluation and accreditation of the 4 existing departments, the diploma courses of the Department of Informatics Management were accredited by ANAAA (the National Agency for Evaluation and Academic Accreditation) in 2017 with a rating of B, and a bachelor's degree was accredited with a rating of C. An Informatics Engineering bachelor’s degree was accredited in 2019 with a B rating. The bachelor's program of the Multimedia Technology department has been operationally licensed by ANAAA in 2019, and the bachelor's program of the Computer Accounting department has been accredited in 2021.


Be excellent in education, research, and community service through dynamic and adaptive information and communication technology in the era of 4.0 and 5.0 in the future.


a. Implement formal, professional, and vocational education processes in the field of information and communication technology.

b. Harmonize scientific research activities and academic processes.

c. Carry out community service activities through information and communication technology.


a. To train qualified graduates in the area of information and communication technology.

b. To train graduates based on three pillars of education, such as wisdom, skills, and attitudes.


a. Transform up-to-date and modern study program into all Timorese.

b. Transform practical-oriented curriculum and market and industry demand.

Dean of the Faculty

Antonio Napoleão Guterres,L.Gi.,M.Cs